International Professional Training

Центр иностранных языков

+7 (495) 228-35-13


What is IELTS?
IELTS (International English Language Testing System), designed by Cambridge ESOL, IDP (IELTS Australia) and the British Council is an international standardised test of English language proficiency for non-native English speakers pursuing an education in English-speaking countries.

Who is IELTS for ?
The IELTS certificate is for those wishing to work, live, or study in English-speaking countries. IELTS is for:

  • High school graduates who want to continue their education in English-speaking countries
  • Students who want to enroll in undergraduate and graduate institutions abroad
  • Professionals seeking employment abroad
  • Families immigrating into English-speaking countries

IELTS is accepted by most schools, universities, vocational institutions, employers and immigration services in Great Britain, Ireland, New Zealand, Australia, South Africa and many European countries.

Two Types of IELTS:
The Academic Module is suitable for those seeking admission to undergraduate and postgraduate courses.
The General Training Module is suitable for those going to English-speaking countries to complete their secondary education or to undertake work experience or training programs not at the undergraduate degree level. The General Training test is also used for immigration purposes.

All candidates are tested in four areas:

  • Listening (the same modules for Academic and General IELTS)
  • Reading (different modules for Academic and General IELTS)
  • Writing (different modules for Academic and General IELTS)
  • Speaking (the same modules for Academic and General IELTS)

IELTS is scored on a nine-band scale. The band scale for each of the four areas of the exam ranges from 0 to 9.