International Professional Training

Центр иностранных языков

+7 (495) 228-35-13


What is CAE?
The Cambridge Certificate in Advanced English (CAE) is a Cambridge ESOL exam at level C1 of the Council of Europe's Common European Framework of Reference for Languages (CEF). (Common European Framework

Who is CAE for?
Choose the CAE if you have obtained a standard of English that is adequate for most purposes, including social and professional situations, as well as in higher education.
It is ideal if you want to work or study abroad or develop a career which requires language skills. It is also useful if you are working towards the CPE (Certificate of Proficiency in English).

Over 400 colleges and universities around the world accept the CAE as an admission requirement. It is also recognised by employers worldwide as confirmation of language proficiency.

The CAE consists of five sections:

Section 1 Reading: (1hour 15 minutes) – n ewspapers and magazines, journals, books (fiction and non-fiction), promotional, and informational materials.

Section 2 Writing: (1 hour 30 minutes) – an article, competition entry, contribution to a longer piece, essay, information sheet, letter, proposal, report or review.

Section 3 Use of English: (1 hour) – different exercises which test grammar and vocabulary.

Section 4 Listening: (40 minutes) – announcements, radio broadcasts, speeches, talks, lectures, anecdotes or interacting speakers, such as radio broadcasts, interviews and discussions.

Section 5 Speaking: (15 minutes) – you will have to talk: a) with the examiner; b) with the other candidate; c) on your own.

Profiles will show candidates' performance in each paper against the following scale: Exceptional – Good – Borderline – Weak. Once awarded, Cambridge ESOL CAE certificates are valid for life.